lillian m. blakey moon_window




DIARY
Newest Entry
Archives
Profile
Cast
About Me
Agoraphobia
Disclaimer
Diaryland

LOCKED DIARIES
Valeofenna
Againsthesky
Echos-Cry
echo-beyond

CONTACT
Notes

LINKS
eXTReMe Tracker


Sunlight on Earth

� Copyright 2006-2012
Monday, Jul. 02, 2007 - 9:50 pm

=*=



I considered changing my template, locked my diary intending to do so, but re-thunk the idea. I'm pissed that my diary text box is crooked to that of my image, and I know why it is, but it's complicated to fix right now.

Instead I googled archetypes, and found one that really fits me...the waif.

I lost the link for this, but oh well, I'm posting it anyway. It really explains my love of literature, and why I connect with and love every book, person, or movie mentioned. :-P

The Waif

This is the original damsel in distress. She was the star of many a Grimm's fairy tales. Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty and Rapunzel, all required rescue, and so does she. Her child-like innocence evokes a protective urge in the beastliest of heroes.

But don't be fooled, because the Waif has tremendous strength of will. She won't fight back; she'll endure. Audrey Hepburn often played this heroine - think of Sabrina. Marilyn Monroe in The Misfits was a classic waif. And an updated version is found in Peta Wilson's La Femme Nikita. A classic Waif is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. She overcame mistreatment, and her innocence and purity won her Mr. Rochester. Another good example - Kathleen E. Woodiwiss's heroine in The Flame & the Flower.

These women are pure at heart, at times a little too trusting, and also insecure. They seem to be untouched by the world, patient and adaptable to any situation. They carry on, looking for the day when they are free of their travails, but taking little action to bring that day closer.

In a bar fight, the Waif is most likely to turn to the hero to get her out of this situation. If that fails, she'll be found pressed against a wall, well out of the fray. But let an unwary fighter venture too close to her little island of safety, and he's likely to have a bottle smashed over his head. When cornered, the Waif will take desperate measures, but only when she has no other option.

hmm...yep. Now where's MY Mr. Rochester?? hmm?

While looking for 'waif' images, I came across Shakespeare's Ophelia as well, and then...of all things, a link to my British ancestor's story:


Cradley Heath - the White Slaves of England

=*= one day i'll fly away =*=

most recent entries:

waving white flags - Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017

yeah so, stuff is happening... - Monday, Sept. 18, 2017

my mind is on the blink - Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017

How stupid of me - Saturday, Sept. 09, 2017

finally breaking down - Monday, Sept. 04, 2017