lillian m. blakey moon_window




DIARY
Newest Entry
Archives
Profile
Cast
About Me
Agoraphobia
Disclaimer
Diaryland

LOCKED DIARIES
Valeofenna
Againsthesky
Echos-Cry
echo-beyond

CONTACT
Notes

LINKS
eXTReMe Tracker


Sunlight on Earth

� Copyright 2006-2012
Thursday, Feb. 21, 2008 - 12:41 am

=*=


Sometimes, a day just starts out bad. (among a few issues I'm having with this week - today it started out with my mom realizing she forgot to pay a certain credit card bill, it later - after I'd cried for a bit - turned out that a mistaken extra doubled-up 70.00 payment by a clerk last month, was somehow attributed to the late payment, and thus - no problems are supposed to arise from my mom's mishap...anywho) (weird)

And then the day suddenly goes good...a guy who lives in my same apartments, was picked up after me, and he was picked up late by 40 minutes (good god) - but...because he was picked up late, I ended up on the same van as him. He's at least 65 and seems very Quasimodo...by this I mean, well, the obvious, but very very nice-seeming, genuinely so. AND as we got to chatting, as he seems friendly and lives like 200 feet from me, it was revealed that back in the day, before his body starting giving him bad days, he was in the theater and was a professor of theater. In fact, he told me he got his PHD in theater and writing, with an additional emphasis on psychology...this was before I mentioned that I'm taking a psychology class, but after I mentioned my love for theatre. Needless to say we didn't stop talking till i got to school. I exchanged numbers with him. And even though I have one slight reserve - that upon googling his name, I found nothing referencing his teaching at the colleges he used to teach at, and upon googling his number it was listed with a different name, same address, which upon googling that came up with nothing...I'm still going to call him. I mean W's phone # lists his dads name, so...but the guy gave me a tip on a very famous actress he is friends with, who comes to Santa Fe occassionally, and he let me know she's trying to get theatre stuff started here and to keep my eyes open for her.

So who knows, I may have met an awesome kindred-spirit dude, or a psychopathic liar...with terribly bad knees...

When I got to school, I got online and looked him up as i said, then called my mom, then buckled down and wrote another page to my philosophy paper.

I'm still iffy about the paper as I kind of feel so (wonderfully) overwhwelmed by the topic, and summarizing impossible to grasp ideas of guys who've been dead (and probably mistranslated) for 2500 years, and also by the format of the paper, that I feel as if I'm pulling ideas out of a horses ass...and knowing i'm probably missing half of the points and reading too much into others, but if it gets me a passing paper, then i'll take my C, gladly.

I skipped Music class today to write that extra page, and didn't feel bad at all. Although, walking past my music classmates on the way to Psych felt pretty incriminating.

My psych class is getting better. We've started covering states of consciousness, including altered ones. This is my area of expertise. But when my poor teacher mentioned drugs, in particular mushrooms and said we'd be doing that on Monday, accidentally inferring that we'd be doing/taking hallucinogens on Monday for class, the whole class giggled. A guy in class said "really! I definitely won't miss class on Monday!" It was a good day in psych.

Basically, my struggle remains getting neurons, axons, dendrites, the limbic system parts right, hypothalamus not mixed with hippocampus, cerebellum not confused with cerebrum, remembering the functions of the brain stem, and related parts, and remembering, while disagreeing with, some of the neurotransmitter info. All while suffering the consequences of the fact that my own neurons and dendrites haven't been liking having to comprehend themselves as anything less than demi-gods...

My mom just told me she thinks I'm doing pretty good, considering my lack of therapy and help, even though I'm not shopping or doing as much outside of school, as I should be. And she got an appointment next wednesday to see a urologist to find out whats wrong with her bladder. *fingers crossed that it's nothing permanent*

I miss Josh stupidly-terribly, and am cursing his new "job" grr **shakes fist of doom** so when it comes to this, I'm one sad and pissed kitty. And counting down to the weekend when we can speak again, at least Saturday...

And tonight I got IMed by a classmate, because he too was befuddled by the three due dates (which is actually 4 due dates ) for this first paper...it was originally due the 12th, pushed back to the 22nd in class, but the due date on the online site says the 21st - tommorrow, and the submission button says due the 25th...and this is making my neurons beg for mercy...seriously.

But i must get back to my paper, before they have time threaten mutiny...

=*= one day i'll fly away =*=

most recent entries:

waving white flags - Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017

yeah so, stuff is happening... - Monday, Sept. 18, 2017

my mind is on the blink - Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017

How stupid of me - Saturday, Sept. 09, 2017

finally breaking down - Monday, Sept. 04, 2017