lillian m. blakey moon_window




DIARY
Newest Entry
Archives
Profile
Cast
About Me
Agoraphobia
Disclaimer
Diaryland

LOCKED DIARIES
Valeofenna
Againsthesky
Echos-Cry
echo-beyond

CONTACT
Notes

LINKS
eXTReMe Tracker


Sunlight on Earth

� Copyright 2006-2012
Saturday, Apr. 12, 2008 - 9:45 pm

=*=



I'm having one these moments where writing a diary entry is MUCH more important than, say, homework and grades, because, I have a few thoughts on various philosophy topics on my mind distracting me from, say, homework and grades. So, this is not a to-do/have done entry, but a - my god I'm neurotic and taking philosophy entry. Enjoy.

After three months in philosophy class, we have finally progressed to�300's B.C.! Feels almost modern, if I forget about 90% of the facts of their time. Ahem. And I am here sincerely wondering when we will come into any Anno Domini philosophizing. Alas, probably never, but at least we are partly past Socrates, and so we are analyzing Aristotle's theories of the four causes. This assumes everything has an origin, has a creator, has a maker (differentiated by thinking up and physically being made), and that everything has a purpose in the final stage. And it has driven me nuts. I no longer see a cup�I see a former lump of porcelain, the shape of which was thunk up by a man, and the physical form was shaped by a machine so that I may drink water without using my hands. I�m doing this with everything. And yeah, it has led me to the inevitable 'what the hell is my purpose?' question. Obviously it's not to push out papers for my teachers to read, as I'm not currently undertaking that particular purpose. But I AM writing, which leads me to a possible answer. Hmm�

My philosophy teacher has us reading from the book Sailing the Wine-Dark Sea, very good actually, as the author puts just enough reference to orgies to keep you awake while reading the other stuff. No really, it's um�I'll mis-use a word and say 'enlightening' even though I learned very little because we covered so much of this in class. One thing I did learn, that had me pause and grin, is the use of the letter 'E'. As the two people who have been reading my ramblings for upwards of 4 years now know, there is a reason I sign these entries with the letter 'e'�it is meant to give a voice to the silent e at the end of my real name, and once, so long ago, it was meant to prove, somehow, that I do indeed exist, however meekly. So when I came across this in the book, in reference to contents in a sacred text penned by Sages: "The third and last inscription is strangest of all, the single letter "E". �I was kinda like�these dead guys rule. And so I read even further. Apparently, it means what I meant my own 'e' to mean, apparently it means 'to be' (present tense) or "thou art" or today it would be an unappealingly unromantic "you are". Or, as I will forever take it: face it already you DO exist. It's the present tense I have a problem with, and maybe is the reason for my struggles. I exist now. Not yesterday, or in three years, but in the unappealing dust-ridden shed cat hair laden bedroom of now...with unfinished homework calling my attention.

In class Thursday, I read a quote I rather enjoy: "Empedocles, who was much under Pythagorean influence, went so far as to recall that in a former life he had been a bush." I admit that when I first read it I heard the knights who no longer say Ni! Requesting another shrubbery...and chuckled to myself�but that's beside the point. It made me really want to know what kind of bush he recalled being. Was he a juniper, or a hydrangea maybe? I mean the experience of being the bush would be altered by whether he bloomed or not, right? And did that have any influence on how the dude died while he was in human form? I mean, the dude died by jumping into a volcano while trying to prove to his students that he had been changed into a God and was therefore immortal�big ol oops. So to say the least, the dude was a tad...looney. But I like him, and he's a lock wackier than Socrates. And therefore a lot more interesting.

Okay, that's it for me, unless I find something else to ramble about.

~e

=*= one day i'll fly away =*=

most recent entries:

waving white flags - Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017

yeah so, stuff is happening... - Monday, Sept. 18, 2017

my mind is on the blink - Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017

How stupid of me - Saturday, Sept. 09, 2017

finally breaking down - Monday, Sept. 04, 2017