lillian m. blakey moon_window




DIARY
Newest Entry
Archives
Profile
Cast
About Me
Agoraphobia
Disclaimer
Diaryland

LOCKED DIARIES
Valeofenna
Againsthesky
Echos-Cry
echo-beyond

CONTACT
Notes

LINKS
eXTReMe Tracker


Sunlight on Earth

� Copyright 2006-2012
Friday, Jul. 01, 2011 - 1:30 am

=*=


Now I will write of kitties and how it led my boyfriend to yell at his grandmother.

Okay, so about 10 weeks ago, a stray cat had kittens in my yard. We didn�t find out till they were two weeks old, approximately � some had eyes open some did not yet. But they were floppy and tiny and cute and�too little to move safely. So, we did what any civilized human being would do, we fed the mama as much good food as she wanted so she could feed her babies. The babies grew and grew and suddenly were more actively flopping around the yard and on each other.

They were cute, I loved watching them. At first we thought there were 3 kittens, then a 4th one popped up and then the last one made herself known. There were 3 little black and white ones, a tabby and white one, and a white one with spots, all but one had the mamas mask. Two had her teardrops. In all, 5 cutie pie lil kittens stole my heart.

The mama was sooo loving to them, cleaned them non-stop, fed them with a wincing expression on her face as it clearly hurt, never left before all were fed, and never once got mad at any of them no matter how much they stepped all over her. They all lived behind wooden boards leaned upon the wall surrounding my yard. I couldn�t get near them without the mama hissing, so, because the mama was so stressed, I never really tried to get closer if she was there.

We watched them grow and play and gain skills for two weeks more.

Well, as bad luck would have it, one single night we got a torrential rainstorm. It has been so dry here in NM that it was the only time in their lives that it rained, until today. At 4 weeks, the mama moved the kittens to a neighbor�s yard, under a bush. The neighbor�s attitude was uncaring. My mom tried everything to catch the mama humanely, but the kittens were gone when they finally did. It was pouring rain, and the neighbors, we discovered, absolutely are sad wastes of human flesh.

So the mama was released again, and for over a week, we had no idea what happened to them. They were no longer in the neighbor�s yard next door. There are buildings she could have moved them under, and numerous yards to choose from.
As it turned out, she chose an assholes yard a few houses down. An old fart that absolutely hates cats, and couldn�t have cared less if they died. As soon as he found the mama and babies under his shed, he made two rules 1) he wanted them gone 2) no one was going in his yard to get them. This meant, despite the fact that we had a cage, a trap and everything needed to catch the feral family all together, and humanely, he wasn�t going to let us.

It made me wonder who he killed and buried in is yard.
He called animal control. And they gave him traps and he caught the mama, without her kittens. The kittens were caught one by one and separated over the next two to three days, which is very dangerous for many reasons. The tiniest of them were in his yard, unprotected from predatory cats and birds, and for two days or more without any water or milk or food, in 95 degree heat. They were only saved because my mom was pissed at the neighbor and called animal control to tell them there were 3 more because we saw the first two get caught and taken away. As it turns out there are no laws regarding feral animals � it is legal to torture them to death, starve them to death, poison them to death, beat them to death, etc. as long as they were on your property and they are not owned by anyone. NM is a very sad state as far as humanity is concerned.

The animal shelter, where they eventually all ended up had no idea they were a litter and a mama�the idiots don�t keep track of the addresses of kitties as they come in. They were all in separate cages. Their photos show that they were terrified. They never did get united with their mama, which still makes my heart ache for her. She was too scared to be handled safely. She is going to go to a ranch to see if she can be socialized at all.

Well, we got an animal rescue group here to claim them, but as we are renting we could not take them to foster them. There were no homes available to foster them. So they sat at the shelter for over a week waiting for a foster home.
It irritated the crap out of me. I asked all of my friends, I asked people I know from school. No one was willing to take in hissy but sweet 6 week old kittens to socialize them so they could be adoptable. For anyone who doesn�t know, the longer kittens wait to have direct human touch, the harder it is to socialize them.

So at the last straw, I asked my boyfriend, who lives with his grandma, who owns her own home, if they would please do it to give these kitties a chance in life. I told her and him that I would stay there and was willing to do all the actual work. Amazingly enough the grandma agreed. We went to see them in the animal shelter, that was about to ship them somewhere unknown. And a few days later we had five hissy kitties to play with. We got everything donated � a 3 tier cage, litter box, litter, food, dishes, toys, scratchers, everything.

It felt good to have them together and know that all survived everything they�ve gone through. And I learned that I make a damn good mama kitty. And that kitty teeth really hurt when they think your finger is a nipple.
I stayed at my boyfriend�s house for almost all two weeks they were there. I played with them, washed poop off one of them cause she down sat in her litter as she was going, I trained her to not sit in it by pulling up her tail to prevent it, I held them, I rocked them, I forced myself up to feed them at 6 am, I pet them, and I accomplished making the tiniest and most frightened and hissiest one accomplish a very loud purr� She now purrs and plays and is no longer lethargic and is nicknamed the little princess.

I have scratches all over my arms from them.

They got so healthy that they wanted out of the cage all the time. Realistically we could only handle one or two at a time. So, last Sunday, after watching four of them double in size 1 lb to 2 lbs, in two weeks, we brought three of them to the agency, and they are ready to be adopted. By bf adopted the one with spots. � he has his very own 10 week old kitty now. :)

As soon as they were there, three French girls swooned over my favorite, who I nicknamed Griselda, because of her old woman scratchy meow and old lady cuddle bug personality. I miss her so much, but she purrs at merely being touched now because of me and the time I took for her despite my horrifically intensive 4 week long summer class. They all purr, they all play, they aren�t afraid of people, they are sweet and playful and love being held.

So my boyfriend came through for me, and help me help kitties who really needed it.

And here is where the crappy part comes in�my boyfriend�s grandma after a week wanted them gone. But they weren�t ready to be adopted, so she put up with them.

I stayed with him � and no he did not touch me once�
Anyway, so my boyfriend had a final, and was out of the area for two days because his class was 40 miles away. So I went home, with the agreement that if his grandma needed help she would call me.

She called me, I missed the call, and called her back�she was rude. Merely called to say that the kitties were ok and she hung up on me without saying �bye�. 4 hours later I get a frantic call that the wiry one was picking on the little one, and could I go there now�I ran and got dressed and she came and got me, which really disrupted my doing homework.

So the week after that my boyfriend had a two day workshop to go to, and would be gone all day both days. He asked if I could stay as it had seemed overwhelming to his grandma to be alone with them. I said of course, I brought an extra change of clothes, etc. And I stayed in the back room listening out for any scuffles or crying as I did my insane amount of homework�4 days of homework per day of class.

So, on Monday, one day after we had brought the kittens to the agency, and first thing in the morning, his grandma says from the other room ,but loud enough for me to hear it �I want you to understand something so there�s no misunderstanding, I never said she could live here.� I knew she meant me�

She went on and on about me, as if I wasn�t there, but she was saying things in such a way that if you really wanted to hurt someone, and you knew they were listening, you�d put it that way. She blamed me for an increase in all of her bills, even though I wasn�t there much for the month they were for and she had had family over those months. She made it clear to my boyfriend that she had been monitoring me, and that my staying any longer than a day visit was too long. She even complained about my staying for a few days.

My boyfriend actually yelled at her.

I felt like packing my stuff up right there in front of her and yelling at her too, and never going back. But that would give her what she wants � her grandson all to herself. My boyfriend told me once that she had done this kind of stuff to his ex-wife, and it hurt her tremendously.
She accused me of never talking to her, even though my boyfriend himself yelled at her that I do indeed say goodbye every time I leave, I do indeed try to talk to her and she doesn�t hear me, even if I�m two feet away, but if he talks she suddenly hears it no matter how low he talks. He yelled at her that why should I talk to her with how she ignores me, and how she treats me and snubs me when she does hear me. It is irritating. She refused to believe it and said we were ganging up on her. I merely replied that I was raised to have manners whether she hears it or not.
Well, at first I sat there listening to her from the other room, trying to not cry, feeling again that I will never be accepted as family no matter how good, perfect, sweet, etc I am. In two weeks I had only taken two showers t her place, and was grimy and sweaty and didn�t wash any of my clothes, entirely so I wouldn�t run up her bills. I remain offended by her, and am in no way about to apologize to her, even though she wants me to. If she demands one, I�ll tell her simply that I�m sorry she needs hearing aids, and that I�m sorry she�s getting senile and leaving lamps with four 100 watt lightbulbs going for hours and needs to blame someone other than herself for the bill.

Now my boyfriend doesn�t feel like he can stay living her with anymore, esp. because she is monitoring us, the lights, etc. All because her bill went up $6�I wonder how she will pay for anything when he moves out � he pays over $300 a month for his two small rooms, and she is still broke. I almost don�t care anymore. It�s really hard to try to like someone who so adamantly dislikes you.
So anyway, I have felt sick every day since Monday. I didn�t even go to class except Wednesday.

Today I took my final. I felt like I was going to throw up and got really sick. Yesterday I wrote 7 pages of an 8 page essay in one morning. I stopped caring if I get an A�
My health is deteriorating and I�ve lost 5 lbs since Monday because I cannot eat without getting sick.

My abandonment/rejection issues just got worse again, and my bf knows it. And he and I have no idea if I am allowed at his house anymore.

Now I am home�and my mom is bitching at me about how hot it is in here, and how miserable she is�and really, if I had a car, I think I would just drive until I found a way to never come back here.

~e

=*= one day i'll fly away =*=

most recent entries:

waving white flags - Wednesday, Sept. 27, 2017

yeah so, stuff is happening... - Monday, Sept. 18, 2017

my mind is on the blink - Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2017

How stupid of me - Saturday, Sept. 09, 2017

finally breaking down - Monday, Sept. 04, 2017