lillian m. blakey moon_window




DIARY
Newest Entry
Archives
Profile
Cast
About Me
Agoraphobia
Disclaimer
Diaryland

LOCKED DIARIES
Valeofenna
Againsthesky
Echos-Cry
echo-beyond

CONTACT
Notes

LINKS


Sunlight on Earth

� Copyright 2006-2021
Monday, Jan. 31, 2022 - 11:16 pm

=*=


I've been reading about my DNA. my insurance wont pay for genetic testing, so i will never know if I have any of the genetic mutations for my blood disorder, or my hypermobility. But i took my raw DNA and uploaded uploaded it do several different analyzing sites, and one said that it detected a COL5A1 abnormality, which would be Classical EDS. I also have the heterozygous type, which is all that is required for that type. Basically some types of EDS (there are many types), like Classical types (and they also suspect hypermobility type, which I have symptoms of), you only need one parent who carries the DNA in order to get the disorder. that parent doesn't even have to have it, they can just be a carrier, and you can end up like me. But if one parent actually has it, then the child has a 50% chance of inheriting it. it lessens in percentage after that the further back it goes, but clearly you can still get it if you hit that percentage jackpot. Because neither pf parents has this. And yet I definitely do. Thanks to autosomal dominant stupidity :(

it also says i'm potentially a carrier of kyphoscoliosis type, and supposedly that's because that type requires having two parents as carriers, but i only have one parent who is a carrier, so that means i also become a carrier.

Anyway, of course these spit tests aren't as accurate as actual genetic blood tests, but until I can afford the $6000+ for the genetic tests I need, or get insurance that covers it, it's as close I will get.

I felt awful and sleepy most of the day, until about 3 pm, when I took extra b12, a b complex vitamin, and the b6 and folate, and E and C an d3. I feel better, though still a bit cloudy mentally. Supposedly folate can be dangerous because it gives you a sense of well-being even if you aren't actually well, which I suspect is what is happening. But at least I'm not falling asleep. My spine is also killing me though, because i decided to make potato salad and chop onions today and that is all it took to make my spine feel like it's splitting in two.

If i still feel this way tomorrow i am going to try to bake something.

tomorrow evening it's supposed to start snowing again, and we are expecting up to 8". And it will be 1 degree by Friday. brr.

I have things I need to do, so I hope I feel ok tomorrow.

i ordered a bunch of seeds, and i'm hoping to grow some things this spring. I'm trying to figure out how i will grow them though, as it is still cold out till May and growing season ends in September. most veggies will need to be started indoors, in March, but we only have one window that gets sun. Anyway, i honestly feel drained when i really think of trying to start a real garden bed.

this house is still a fixer-upper and as far as i know we still have ground squirrel and raccoons to contend with and plan for if we grow any food.

ok, it's time to try to sleep.

=*= one day i'll fly away =*=

most recent entries:

Breaking ties - Tuesday, Feb. 15, 2022

kicking my ass - Saturday, Feb. 12, 2022

no point - Monday, Feb. 07, 2022

Ongoing... - Saturday, Feb. 05, 2022

Ties - Thursday, Feb. 03, 2022